Latest News

Simply Energy WA State U19s Squad announcedWednesday, June 9, 2021 - 4:51 PM

The Simply Energy WA State U19s squad has been announced ahead of the National Championships starting in late July. 

After a one-year hiatus from the Championships due to COVID-19, the format will return to state against state, seeing the best young talent on display before the National Draft later in the year. 

Game one will be played in Sydney on Saturday July 31 against the Allies, before WA takes on South Australia a week later on August 7 in Perth.

The remaining two games in the Championship will be played at the conclusion of the Simply Energy WAFL Colts Season. 

The selection committee included AFL Club recruiting staff and WA Academy Staff, observing games across WAFL Colts and PSA Football. 

AFL Academy members Rhett Bazzo, Jacob Van Rooyen, Neil Erasmus, Matt Johnson and Jack Williams all feature in the side as they look to defend the title claimed in 2019. 

Both Van Rooyen and Johnson have gained senior experience to begin the 2021 season, featuring at League level for Claremont and Subiaco respectively.

WA State Talent Manager Adam Jones congratulated all of the players selected and their schools and clubs for the effort in preparing for the National Championships.

“We feel that the squad will be extremely competitive heading into the National Championships,” Jones said.

“The players have had perfect preparation in the WAFL Colts and PSA systems to start the season and it was challenging to narrow the squad down for the next phase of the program.

“After the disappointment of missing out on a Championships last year, there is a real sense of excitement around the next two months.”

“Marc Webb comes into the program as Head Coach and will be well supported by a number of experienced assistants.” 

Webb will lead the group for the first time in 2021 after replacing outgoing coach Peter Sumich at the beginning of the season. 

Beau McDonald, Ben Dyer, Michael Johnson and Ryan Lasscock will be assistant coaches. 

2021 Simply Energy WA U19s Squad

Claremont: Jacob Van Rooyen, Jahmal Stretch, Eric Benning, Angus Sheldrick
East Fremantle: Jack Williams, Jed Hagan, Joshua Browne, Corey Warner, Finn Gorringe, Edward Curley, Judd McVee, Taj Woewodin
East Perth: Ethan Regan, Jye Amiss, Kade Dittmar, Oscar Armstrong, James Tunstill, Kaden Harbour
Peel Thunder: Brady Hough, Jarrad McIlvinney, Luke Polson
Perth: Jack Avery, Jaiden Hunter
South Fremantle: Jesse Motlop
Subiaco: Jake South, Matthew Johnson, Richard Farmer, Neil Erasmus
Swan Districts: Max Chipper, Rhett Bazzo, Bryce Watson
West Perth: Lochlan Paton, Zachary Fleiner