Latest News

2021 WAFC Commissioner Election - Endorsed Candidates Friday, October 22, 2021 - 12:07 PM

The West Australian Football Commission (WAFC) advises that the Nomination Committee, with representatives of the Community Football Advisory Council, Fremantle Football Club, WAFC, WAFL Council of Presidents and West Coast Eagles, met to consider the Expressions of Interest received for the upcoming Commissioner Elections and provided the WAFC Board a list of Recommended Candidates. 

An impressive number of nominations from high quality candidates was received by the WAFC and the Nomination Committee faced a challenging task to arrive at its Recommended Candidates. The WAFC Board would like to acknowledge and thank all parties, whether successful in being selected as an Endorsed Candidate or not, for the interest they have shown in participating in the Commissioner Election process. 

The WAFC Board has endorsed the recommendations of the Nomination Committee and the Endorsed Candidates to be included on the ballot paper are as follows: 

Jason Waters 

Mark Hann 

Hon Wayne Martin AC QC 

Carolyn Hills 

Gordon Cole 

Michelle Fyfe APM 

Dr Tracy Westerman AM 

The Endorsed Candidates will be listed on the Ballot Paper in the order above which was determined by the Returning Officer via a random draw on 21 October 2021.The process for the remainder of the Election is as follows: 

Friday 22 October 2021 
Ballot papers and Notice of Meeting for the Football Forum distributed to Members and Affiliated Associations. 

Thursday 4 and Monday 8 November 2021 
Opportunity for eligible Ordinary Members Nominee Members, and Affiliated Associations to meet (interview) all endorsed candidates, at meetings to be convened on Thursday 4 November and Monday 8 November 2021 between 4:00pm – 6:00pm. 

Monday 29 November 2021 – 5:00pm 
Deadline for receipt of postal votes. 
Thursday 2 December 2021 – 5:30pm (venue WAFC Tuart College - Cafeteria) 
Football Forum – Nominee Members to vote by secret ballot on the appointment of the applicants who were successful in the postal vote. Vote counts to be undertaken by the Returning Officer and results announced at the meeting.