WAFC Commissioners


Elected to WAFC Board 2019-2021. Elected Chairman 2020

Mr Martin has served the State and people of Western Australia in a variety of roles, most recently as Chief Justice of Western Australia, a position which he held from May 1, 2006 until his retirement from judicial office in July, 2018.
He is the current Lieutenant-Governor of Western Australia and has served as Chair and Board member of numerous professional, not-for-profit and government organisations during his lengthy legal career.
He has passionately followed football in Western Australia throughout his life and is the proud father of five children who have all participated in a wide-range of community based sports. 


Elected to WAFC Board 2016, 2017-2019, 2020-2023

Hon. Cheryl Edwardes was admitted to the Supreme Court of Western Australia in 1984 and the High Court of Australia in 1986. She was the first female solicitor appointed to the West Australian Parliament in 1989 and the first female Attorney General in WA in 1993. She was a Minister of 12 portfolios over eight years and the longest serving woman Minister in WA when she retired in 2005. She was made a member of the Order of Australia in the 2016 Queen's Birthday Honours.


Elected to WAFC Board 2020-2023

Mrs Banfield is Global Strategy Director at Worley, Perth, where she has held various roles for the past 20 years, supporting the Company's significant transformation into the largest energy and resources service provider globally. Her experience has included engineering, program management, marketing and communications, strategic planning, investor relations, corporate affairs, commercial strategy and business and financial planning across the New Energy, Oil and Gas, Mining and Infrastructure sectors. As the mother of four, she is actively involved in community football in various voluntary positions, which has allowed her to develop a deep understanding of the complexities and requirements of the game at grassroots level.


Elected to WAFC Board 2018-2020

Chris is Community Relations Manager for BHP WA and has held a range of senior leadership positions within the public, private and community sector including Corporate Affairs Manager and Manager of Indigenous Affairs for BHP Billiton. He has also served as Acting Director General for the Department of Indigenous Affairs and is a board member for the Pilbara Development Commission. Chris is President of Hedland’s AFL Masters team the Flat Back Turtles, and a committee member, coach, and umpire for the Hedland Reds Junior Football Club.



Elected to WAFC Board 2015-2017, 2018-2020

Grant’s life-time of involvement with football has included playing League at East Perth, coaching at junior and League level, and leading WA to its first ever Teal Cup win in 1985 to be named All-Australian Coach. In 1979 he was awarded the British Empire Medal for his role in organising WA’s 150th Anniversary Celebrations. Grant also received an Order of Australia in 2012 for his role as Chairman of the Road Safety Council of WA and contribution to WA football development. He also worked as General Manager of the WA Football Development Trust, Manager Special Projects at Fremantle Football Club and then Director of Football at the WAFC.



Elected to WAFC Board 2013-2015, 2016-2018, 2019-2021

Stuart is a Partner and Vice President of Bain and Company, one of the world’s leading international strategic consulting firms. He has over 18 years of experience in strategic management consultancy, advising some of the world’s largest organisations and leading executives. He also has extensive experience in financial analysis and risk assessment. Stuart has also been involved in Surf Lifesaving for more than 20 years as a volunteer lifesaver, coach, administrator and competitor, including winning a Beach Relay World Championship.



Elected to WAFC Board 2018-2020

Mr O’Donnell is Director of Finance and Investments at Australian Capital Equity. He completed 10 years as a Director of Fremantle      Football Club in February 2016, which included being Chairman of the Finance, Audit, Integrity and Risk Committee, and a member of the Joint WA Football Working Group for the New Perth Stadium. He was awarded Fremantle’s Con Regan Medal for his service in 2017. Brian is also a Director at Capilano Honey and The Guide Dog Foundation and is Chairman of BCI Minerals Limited. Roles in community sport have included junior cricket coach, junior football team manager, and Secretary of East Fremantle Cricket Club.




Elected to WAFC Board 2012-2013, 2014-2016, 2017-2019, 2020-2021

Neil has over 40 years of experience as a player, volunteer, coach and administrator. He played over 200 league games of WAFL football and was a chairman of selectors under legendary coaches Mal Brown and Haydn Bunton. During 20 years as a Board member at Subiaco he oversaw a range of portfolios including sponsorship, marketing, facility development, membership and football.  He was Club President for seven years and also served on the WAFL Council of Presidents, including one year as Chairman. Neil has been State President of the Australian Hotels Association WA for more than a decade and is an alternate Director with the HOSTPLUS superannuation fund.